Academic Search Ultimate

Welcome! Looking for some help with searching on Academic Search Ultimate?

This guide provides an overview of how to search our most comprehensive, multidisciplinary database, Academic Search Ultimate. 

You can opt to watch the basic video only, which is about 4 minutes long and provides a general introduction to searching this database. 

You can also watch a series of specialized videos that will provide more in-depth information about searching. These videos are going to provide details necessary to maximize your search results and really understand how this database functions. 

You can access the basic video in this guide's first tab, and the specialized videos in the second tab. Transcripts will be available for both. 

Locating the Database

To find Academic Search Ultimate:

1. Go to the NDSU Libraries website 
2. On the homepage, click on the yellow tab that says "databases." (These yellow tabs are right above the search bar, if you are having any trouble locating them.)
3. Once you click on the "databases" tab, you will see a short list titled "Most Popular Databases." Academic Search Ultimate is hyperlinked at the top of this list. You can click on this and be immediately redirected to Academic Search Ultimate.
4. You can also click on "All Databases" to view the full list of databases. A direct Academic Search Ultimate link will be included on the righthand sidebar titled "Featured Databases."

This is a direct link to Academic Search Ultimate through our NDSU Libraries system. You will need to log in with your Bison credentials to access the database.

Questions?

If you have any questions at all about any of this content, please reach out to Student Success & Instruction Librarian Lydia Larson! She can clarify any aspects of this lesson. All of NDSU's subject liaison librarians, including Lydia, are available to visit NDSU classes to offer instruction for Academic Search Ultimate.

Lydia Larson, lydia.larson.1@ndsu.edu, Main Library 120F

To see our full list of subject liaison librarians, visit this page.

If you need assistance during the day, you can also use our library instant chat feature. This is the gray box in the bottom right corner of our library website. Here, you can chat with one of our librarians (this is a real human service, not a bot!). During non-business hours, this gray box turns into a smaller golden oval; in this case, you can leave us an email and we will get back to you!