The Anti-Racist Resources for Teaching & Learning guide identifies resources available from the NDSU Libraries and online to support faculty, staff, and student self-education. The guide contains resources to assist instructors in the classroom, as well as resources covering issues at the intersection of race and higher education. The guide also presents a variety of resources aimed at a general audience interested in learning more about topics including history, theory, Black feminism, first person narratives, and public health.
This guide is presented in partnership with the NDSU Anti-Racism Coalition.
Blackwell, D. M. (2010). Race Ethnicity and Education, 13:4, 473-494.
Blakaney, A. M. (2005). Journal of Curriculum and Pedagogy, 2(1), 119-132.
St Clair, D., & Kishimoto, K. (2010). Multicultural Education, 18(1), 18-24.
Dewsbury, B., & Brame, C. J. (2019). CBE—Life Sciences Education, 18(2), fe2.
Barnett, Pamela E., Liberal Education, Summer 2013, Vol. 99, No. 3
Stuart Tannock (2017) Studies in Higher Education, 42:8, 1345-1357, DOI: 10.1080/03075079.2015.1092131
O’Meara, K., Culpepper, D., & Templeton, L. L. (2020). Review of Educational Research, 90(3), 311–348. https://doi.org/10.3102/0034654320914742
Click here to browse a collection of NDSU Libraries' book about anti-racist teaching and pedagogy.
A Guide to Coded Language in Education, Vol. I & II Creating an equitable education system means decentering racist outcomes like test scores and grades and shifting resources to meet historically exploited communities' material and socio-emotional needs.
Becoming an Anti-Racist Educator Compiled by Wheaton College, this resource is a action-oriented guide that does not claim to be exhaustive. It is meant to engage all educators in the college campus in becoming anti-racist. It will direct you to resources produced by communities of educators across the US.
Enough Y'all Dr. Kim Case's website of anti-racism pedagogy resources, includes many free materials
Inclusive Teaching Resources and Strategies Resources from the Center for Research on Learning & Teaching at the University of Michigan. Also includes a collection of selected resources from other higher education institutions.
A Summer WORKbook for Educators, by Tamisha Williams This WORKbook guides educators through reflections about the school year and prompts visualization for the fall, all the while steeping us, collectively, in anti-racism work.
Tools for Inclusive Teaching This page was developed by the USC Rossier School of Education to help faculty across all courses and programs better teach the concepts of diversity. The resources on the Tools for Inclusive Teaching page help faculty provide readings for courses, and can also be used as activities and resources in class.
The Underrepresentation Curriculum Project A modular, student-centered curriculum designed to examine and address equity and inclusion in science.
American Association for the Advancement of Science: SEA Change SEA Change supports institutional transformation in support of diversity, equity, and inclusion, especially in colleges and universities.
ASPIRE: The National Alliance for Inclusive & Diverse STEM Faculty Aspire seeks to develop inclusive and diverse STEM faculty across the nation by aligning and reinforcing professional development, hiring, and retention practices of STEM faculty simultaneously at institutional, regional, and national levels.
National SEED Project SEED (Seeking Educational Equity and Diversity) partners with schools, organizations, and communities to develop leaders who guide their peers in conversational communities to drive personal, organizational, and societal change toward social justice.
Click here to browse a selection of NDSU Libraries books covering, whiteness studies, racism, biography, memoir, theory, and feminism.
Aamer Rahman (Fear of a Brown Planet) - Reverse Racism Comedy in service of learning about racism-very short video.
Dr. Robin DiAngelo discusses 'White Fragility' University of Washington professor Dr. Robin DiAngelo reads from her book "White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism," explains the phenomenon, and discusses how white people can develop their capacity to engage more constructively across race.
USC Race and Equity Center - White People Talking to White People About Racism National eConvening with 3,500 attendees. Moderated by Professor John Pascarella, USC Race and Equity Center Chief Academic Officer. Kathy Obear, Ted Mitchell, Ali Michael, Greg Schulz, and Stephen Sachs were panelists.
Code Switch - Race in Your Face From NPR: "Remember when folks used to talk about being "post-racial"? Well, we're definitely not that. We're a multi-racial, multi-generational team of journalists fascinated by the overlapping themes of race, ethnicity and culture, how they play out in our lives and communities, and how all of this is shifting. "
Scene on Radio "Scene on Radio is a podcast that tells stories exploring human experience and American society. Produced and hosted by John Biewen, Scene on Radio comes from the Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) at Duke University. Season 1 features a mix of stand-alone and multiple-episode stories; season 2, exploring the history and meaning of whiteness; season 3, sexism, patriarchy, and misogyny; season 4, American democracy.
1619 - New York Times An audio series on how slavery has transformed America, connecting past and present through the oldest form of storytelling.
Pod for the Cause- The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights This podcast was created for those wanting to effect change, who understand the importance of restoring our democracy and want to engage in deep conversation around the issues.
Project Implicit - Harvard University Project Implicit is a non-profit organization and international collaboration between researchers who are interested in implicit social cognition - thoughts and feelings outside of conscious awareness and control. The goal of the organization is to educate the public about hidden biases and to provide a “virtual laboratory” for collecting data on the Internet.
“Talking About Race” Web Portal | National Museum of African American History and Culture Talking About Race builds upon decades of work by the museum’s educators. It is the result of extensive research, studies, consultations, and educational resources from these fields: history, education, psychology and human development. It includes published research from leading experts, activists, historians, and thought leaders on race, equity, and inclusion.
Racial Equity Tools: Resource Lists Think of this as a bibliography of a wide variety of resource lists created by a number of different organizations and institutions all in one spot.
Agenda towards transformative change for racial justice and equality On 17 June 2020, the UN Human Rights Council held an urgent debate on “current racially inspired human rights violations, systemic racism, police brutality and violence against peaceful protests”. On 19 June 2020, the Human Rights Council adopted by consensus resolution 43/1 which mandates a report be made about systemic racism towards Africans and people of African descent. The report and supporting documentation can be accessed on this website.
The National Museum of African American History and Culture has put together an extensive online searchable museum featuring exhibits about a variety of facets of the complex African American experience. A fairly in depth look at the transatlantic slave trade is of particular interest.