The library provides access to many databases that will have information about plant science research articles. Some of the most recommended databases for Plant Science are:
Abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journal articles and scholarly sources in a range of disciplines. Part of Web of Science.
Reference in the applied life sciences.
8 simultaneous user license.
Includes Natural Science and Technology Collections, with abstracts, indexing, and full-text of scholarly, trade and industry journals, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Index of more than 8 million records covering agriculture and related disciplines. SEARCH Everything for results from AGRICOLA, PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC). Or limit to PubAg by selecting it at the top of the advanced search form.
Indexes a broad spectrum of turf grass resources. 5 simultaneous user access model.
See some of the library guides related to finding articles
If you don't see the article's PDF or HTML version, click the Search @ NDSU button. This button opens a new window/tab and runs a search of the library's records to determine the access options available.
When immediate access is available
In the best-case scenario, the new window/tab will take you directly to the full text of the article. If that doesn't happen, the new window/tab will take you to a record in the library catalog.
If we can access the article through one of our subscriptions, you will find one or more links under the View Online section. Be sure to check the coverage dates provided below each link.
When immediate access isn't available
You will see one or two options to request the full text. The Request express delivery (via Article Galaxy Scholar) option can typically provide access in just a few minutes, with most articles available within minutes and nearly all accessible within 24 hours.
The Request through Interlibrary Loan option is for resources that are not available through our subscriptions or Article Galaxy Scholar. Articles requested through Interlibrary Loan are generally accessible within 1-2 business days.
You can change your Google Scholar setting to connect to articles available through the library. Instructions on how to change your settings are available at https://ndsu.libguides.com/googlescholar
Now when you use Google Scholar, it will let you know what resources you can access through the NDSU Libraries! After setting your preferences you will see access links to the right of the results. To access the article, simply click on the Get It @ NDSU link to be taken to the article. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your usual NDSU username and password.
Look for the Search @ NDSU button. Using this link will function the same as it does when you use it from a library database (see above for more details).
If you don't see this option, you can search for the article through the library catalog and find access options there.
Start on the library homepage.
Enter the article title in the search box and click Resource Search (or press Enter).
If the article appears in the results, click on the article title, find the View Online section, and select the option that best fits the timeframe within which the article was published.
If the article doesn't appear in the results, go to the Refine My Results section and enable the option to include articles available through interlibrary loan.
Click the article's title from the updated results list.
Click Express Delivery (via Article Galaxy Scholar).
Review the details on the article request page and click Request PDF. There's no cost to you; the Libraries cover the expense.
When the article is ready, you'll receive an email notification with access details, or you can download the PDF directly from your browser.
Tip: Save the PDF as soon as you download it the first time to avoid access issues later.
If Express Delivery (via Article Galaxy Scholar) is not an option, use the Request through Interlibrary loan option.
See the following guides for more information:
If the library does not have access to the article, you can request it, for free, through Interlibrary Loan. For more information and instructions on how to use the service:
