Skip to Main Content

North Dakota State Information By Subject: Home

NDSU Libraries is a state document depository which means that it receives print and electronic version of publications from North Dakota state agencies. State government documents include annual reports, strategic plans, audits, meeting minutes, newsletters and magazines, brochures, handbooks, maps, statistics, public university catalogs and student newspapers, Cooperative Extension publications, and research results. Use the Libraries' Search tool to locate ND state publications in the library and online.

NDSU Digital Repository (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
The NDSU Digital Repository is an institutional repository provided by the NDSU Libraries that collects, preserves, and distributes digital material located at or produced by the NDSU community.
Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
Sanitary Home (later called North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home, and North Dakota Farmer) was a monthly periodical published for rural North Dakotans from 1899-1918. It was conceived and edited, and the early issues mostly written by Edwin Fremont Ladd, professor of chemistry at North Dakota Agricultural College, 1890-1916, and president of NDAC 1916-1921. The magazine was a communication link between NDAC and the rural community of North Dakota.
North Dakota Business Record Search (N.D. Government - Office of Secretary of State)
Records of all corporations, limited liability companies, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, limited liability limited partnerships, partnership fictitious names, trade names, trademarks, and real estate investment trusts. Includes all active records and those records inactivated within the past twelve months. May be useful to assess Name Availability for new business registrations to be filed with the Secretary of State.
North Dakota State Treasurer - Revenue Distribution
Find city and county tax revenue by month, including restaurant/lodging and sales taxes.
North Dakota Workforce Connection Job Search (N.D. Government - Job Service)
Enter various criteria to search for a job.
Sales Tax Geographic Information System (N.D. Government - Tax Department) A convenient electronic resource for identifying local sales and use tax rates using a city or address look-up. Enter a city or address to identify applicable state and local sales tax rates on sales.
Searchable Database of Expenditures (N.D. Government - Office of Management and Budget)
Search State Government and University System expenditures by vendor, business unit, account, fund, and job title.
Spectrum Full-text database, 1896 - present
"The Spectrum" is the student newspaper of NDSU. This database contains digitized full text search from Dec. 1896 to Spring 1950. All pages are in PDF and can be printed or saved. Or search the Spectrum Index, 1938 - present.
North Dakota Department of Health
North Dakota Department of Health has information on births, deaths, and disease in the North Dakota.
Dakota Territory 1885 Census (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
The database contains over 151,500 names. Each entry includes: name, age, nativity, occupation, county of residence, and exact location of the entry in the census schedule.
Fargo Forum Obituary Index (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
This database contains over 70,000 names from the Fargo ''Forum'' newspaper, October 1892 to 1909 and from November 1982 to 1995.
Historic Sites (N.D. Government - State Historical Society of North Dakota)
Search 56 historic sites owned by the state and preserved, maintained, and interpreted by the State Historical Society of North Dakota.
NDSU Digital Repository (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
The NDSU Digital Repository is an institutional repository provided by the NDSU Libraries that collects, preserves, and distributes digital material located at or produced by the NDSU community.
North Dakota Naturalization Records Index (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
The North Dakota Naturalization Records index was compiled at the State Historical Society of North Dakota, where all original county naturalization records are preserved and have been microfilmed.
Record Index (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
The Record historical magazine was published at Fargo, N.D. from 1895 to 1905 by Col. C.A. Lounsberry. The magazine’s main focus was historical and biographical articles related to North Dakota, with numerous illustrations of persons, places and events. This index covers issues from 1895 through 1899. The Record is available on microfilm and hard copy at the Institute for Regional Studies Research Room. To order photocopies of articles contact the Institute for Regional Studies.
Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home / North Dakota Farmer (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
Sanitary Home (later called North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home, and North Dakota Farmer) was a monthly periodical published for rural North Dakotans from 1899-1918. It was conceived and edited, and the early issues mostly written by Edwin Fremont Ladd, professor of chemistry at North Dakota Agricultural College, 1890-1916, and president of NDAC 1916-1921. The magazine was a communication link between NDAC and the rural community of North Dakota.
Cass County, N.D. Marriage License Index (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
This database indexes all marriage licenses recorded in Cass County between circa 1872 and July 1944.
Cass County, N.D. Probate Records Index (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries)
This database provides access to over 5,900 individual Cass County probate files from circa 1875 to 1949.
North Dakota Courts Records Inquiry (N.D. Government - Supreme Court)
Search criminal, traffic, civil, family, and probate case records; judgments; and court calendar.
North Dakota Legislative Assembly
Provides information related to the legislative process in North Dakota, especially with respect to the North Dakota Legislative Management and the North Dakota Legislative Assembly. Includes links to the North Dakota Century Code, Session Laws, and Bills, Resolutions, & Journals.
North Dakota Supreme Court Website Search (N.D. Government - Supreme Court)
Use this site to access ND Supreme Court opinions, rules, and other information.
Election Results Inquiry (N.D. Government - Secretary of State)
Select and view North Dakota election results back to the 1880s.
Sales Tax Geographic Information System (N.D. Government - Tax Department)
A convenient electronic resource for identifying local sales and use tax rates using a city or address look-up. Enter a city or address to identify applicable state and local sales tax rates on sales.
Transparency Portal (N.D. Government - Office of Management and Budget)
Provides a single point of reference to view State and University System expenditures from July 1, 2007 to current.
Voter Information (N.D. Government - Secretary of State)
Collective Bibliography of North Dakota Geology (N.D. Government - NDSU Libraries & North Dakota Geological Survey)
Over 5,100 references on the geology of North Dakota, covering 1806-2002.
North Dakota Geological Survey
The North Dakota Geological Survey was created by an act of the North Dakota Legislature in 1895. After more than 120 years, the Survey still serves as the primary source of geological information in the state. Its mission over the years has grown and is now three-fold:
  • Investigate the geology of North Dakota
  • Administer regulatory programs and act in an advisory capacity to other state agencies
  • Provide public service to the people of North Dakota
North Dakota Department of Water Resources
"DWR has the authority to investigate, plan, construct, and develop water-related projects, and serves as a mechanism to financially support those efforts throughout North Dakota. There are seven divisions that make up the DWR: Administration, Atmospheric Resources, Planning and Education, Regulatory, State Engineer, Water Appropriation, and Water Development."
Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute Research Reports (N.D. Government - NDSU)
The Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute (UGPTI) is an independent center at North Dakota State University which is guided, in part, by an advisory council composed of representatives of various organizations industries and agencies affecting or affected by transportation.
Historic Sites (N.D. Government - State Historical Society of North Dakota)
Search 56 historic sites owned by the state and preserved, maintained, and interpreted by the State Historical Society of North Dakota.
North Dakota Compass
North Dakota Compass is a social indicators project that measures progress in our state, its eight regions, 53 counties, four Native American reservations, and larger cities (see map). Compass tracks trends in topic areas such as children and youth, economy, health, housing, and workforce (with more currently being developed). It inspires people to take action to improve our economic vitality and quality of life.

Library Reference Staff

Profile Photo
Library Reference
Contact:
Main Library
701-231-8886