Skip to Main Content

Tribal and Indigenous Peoples Studies: Home

North Dakota is the home of the Oceti Sakowin (Dakota, Lakota, and Nakota), Nueta, Sahnish, Hidatsa, and Anishinaabe peoples, in addition to many other diverse Indigenous peoples connected to these lands. There are five federally recognized Tribal Nations including Mandan, Hidatsa, & Arikara Nation (Three Affiliated Tribes), the Spirit Lake (Dakota) Nation, the Standing Rock (Lakota and Dakota) Sioux Tribe, the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa (Anishinaabe), and the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate (Dakota). Indigenous peoples have lived in North Dakota for over 10,000 years and remain a vibrant force in communities all over the region. (Source: NDSU Tribal and Indigenous Peoples Studies.)

Use this Research Guide to discover Tribal and Indigenous Peoples Studies resources available from NDSU Libraries and online.

 Tribal and Indigenous Peoples Studies Books Follow this link to browse highlights from the library's collection.

Native women at Ft. Berthold Reservation, North Dakota

Native Women at Fort Berthold Reservation, 1920s

Suggested Library Databases

Humanities Librarian