North Dakota is the home of the Oceti Sakowin (Dakota, Lakota, and Nakota), Nueta, Sahnish, Hidatsa, and Anishinaabe peoples, in addition to many other diverse Indigenous peoples connected to these lands. There are five federally recognized Tribal Nations including Mandan, Hidatsa, & Arikara Nation (Three Affiliated Tribes), the Spirit Lake (Dakota) Nation, the Standing Rock (Lakota and Dakota) Sioux Tribe, the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa (Anishinaabe), and the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate (Dakota). Indigenous peoples have lived in North Dakota for over 10,000 years and remain a vibrant force in communities all over the region. (Source: NDSU Tribal and Indigenous Peoples Studies.)
Use this Research Guide to discover Tribal and Indigenous Peoples Studies resources available from NDSU Libraries and online.
Tribal and Indigenous Peoples Studies Books Follow this link to browse highlights from the library's collection.
Native Women at Fort Berthold Reservation, 1920s
Digital Horizons: Life on the Northern Plains
For Eagles to be Crows Collection (NDSU Archives)
Chronicling America: Indians of North America Digitized Newspapers
Digital Public Library of America: Primary Source Sets
Independent Voices: Native American Collection (1960s-1970s Alternative Press Archive)
Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Digital Collection
National Archives: American Indian Records
National Native American Heritage Month - Exhibits and Collections
Aboriginal Policy Studies: APS
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society
International Indigenous Policy Journal
International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies
Journal of American Indian Education
Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAIS)
Studies in American Indian Literatures
National Native News 5-minute weekday audio newscast
Academic journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
