LibGuides: Emergency Management and Disaster Science: Home

Find Articles: Multidisciplinary Resources

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A vast multi-disciplinary resource containing magazines, periodicals, reports, books, videos and peer-reviewed, full-text journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search tool for scholarly literature. Additional instructions for setting up to automatically connect to NDSU Libraries resources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science, technology, and medicine resources and bibliographic information.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
All Web of Science databases. Indexes multidisciplinary scholarly and peer-reviewed resources.

Find Data

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research - data archive of 250,000+ files of research in the social and behavioral sciences, with specialized collections covering education, aging, criminal justice, public health, terrorism, and more.
SHELDUS This link opens in a new window
Spatial Hazard Events and Losses Database for the US provides data for natural hazards such as thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfire, from 1960-present. Information includes date, location, and losses. Requires registration with ndsu.edu e-mail address.

Government Resources and Information

This resource page allows you to search and explore over 20,000 scholarly/peer-reviewed articles covering all-hazards topics as well as some 5,000 proceedings from academic, non-government organizations, and governmental conferences and workshops.

Where to Find Emergency Management Books in the Library

Find books related to emergency management and disaster science on the library shelves within the call numbers below. The Main Library's second floor floor plan shows where the call numbers are located.

Click here to browse selected Emergency Management books available in the Main Library.

GB Physical geography

GB 5000 - 5030 Natural Disasters

HD Industries, land use, labor

HD 49 - 49.5 Industry: Crisis management, emergency management

HD 61 Risk in industry, risk management

HM Sociology (General)

HM 1106 - 1171 Interpersonal relations, social behavior

HV Social pathology, social and public welfare

HV 551.2 - 639 Emergency management

HV 640 - 645 Refugee problems

HV 650 - 679 Accidents, safety