Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for education-related content. Coverage of all levels of education and specialties.
Education-related content. Coverage of all levels of education and specialties.
3rd Edition. Reference book for educational researchers and practitioners.
From HW Wilson, indexes education-related content from 1929-1983.
Index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health.
Access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at North Dakota State University.
Dissertations and theses from around the world. 1861 to present.
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC). Education-related literature, resources, and media.
Also available at eric.ed.gov
ICPSR: Comprehensive data resource for the social sciences
Kids Count : Data, policy recommendations, and tools
America's Children Reports from childstats.gov
Data from Developing Countries : From the Bureau for Research in Economic Analysis of Development
DataLab : Postsecondary and pre-elementary education data from the National Center for Education Statistics
Digest of Education Statistics
Diversity Data Kids : From Brandeis University's Heller School for Social Policy and Management
Education Policy and Data Center : International in scope
National Assessment of Educational Progress
National Student Clearing House : Information about student educational outcomes nationwide
Terms to know:
Reliability: The extent to which a measurement is free from error. The result for a person who has not changed also doesn’t change when retested at different intervals, by different people, or in different situations. Validity: the degree to which an instrument is measuring the thing it claims to measure. For example, does a test for student engagement actually measure that, or is it measuring something else, like extroversion or intelligence?
Many studies attach full-text of their testing instruments as an appendix to their final document. These can often be found through database searches. Do note that many measurement tools are protected by copyright. If planning to use a tool for research or practice, you may need to get copyright permission or pay for a license. Talk to me if you need help or further information.
To find tests and measurements in databases try searching for your topic AND your instrument.
Example: test anxiety AND ("oral interview" OR questionnaire)
Here are links to some helpful information about navigating and searching the NDSU Libraries' resources:
Searching for dissertations and theses
Citation management information
Finding measurement tools (like surveys, inventories etc.)
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
A data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences, with specialized data collections covering education, aging, criminal justice, public health, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR also participates in data stewardship and research projects.
