Need to find one or more articles on a topic? Try one of our databases! You can browse our databases listed by title or search by title/keyword, subject, or type.
The top recommended databases for ABEN include:
Engineering database with abstracts and indexing for journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and more.
Abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journal articles and scholarly sources in a range of disciplines. Part of Web of Science.
Research on agriculture, the environment and the applied life sciences.
See our other recommended databases for Agriculture & Food Systems and for Engineering.
Looking for more help? Schedule a research consultation with the Agriculture Sciences Librarian.
Need to find the full text of a specific article? Want to see if we have online access to a specific journal? See our Find Journals guide for instructions.
Looking for peer-reviewed, original research articles? The Finding and Identifying Original Research Articles in the Sciences guide has information that describes peer-review and characteristics of original research articles (so you know what to look for!).
If the library does not have the article you need, you can request it (for free) through Interlibrary Loan.
When searching in library databases, look for the SEARCH @ NDSU button or link. When you click on this button/link, a new window or tab will open to run a search through library resources to see if we have access to that journal.
You can also check to see if the library has access to the journal the article was published in by using our journal search. For more information see https://ndsu.libguides.com/findjournals
* If you discover that we don't have electronic access but we DO have print access in our storage annex, you can request a PDF of the article. For more information see https://ndsu.libguides.com/reqannex
One of the fastest and easiest ways can be to search for the article in Google Scholar. You can change the settings in Google Scholar so that links to materials that NDSU has access to will be available. Here are directions for changing your settings: https://ndsu.libguides.com/googlescholar.
If the library does not have the article you need, you can request it (for free) through Interlibrary Loan. For instructions on how to use Interlibrary Loan, see https://ndsu.libguides.com/ill .
Unfortunately, we all occasionally have issues with accessing library resources. Here are some of the most common problems that students may encounter:
I can't login to access this database/article.
The login for databases/articles is your NDSU email with the associated password.
After logging in, you may encounter a second authentication page that asks you to choose a device and an authentication method (Duo Push, Call Me, Passcode). For more information about this multi-factor authentication go to https://kb.ndsu.edu/it/99732
If you are having problems with your login or the authentication process, please contact the NDSU Helpdesk at https://www.ndsu.edu/it/help/
I can’t login to my library account
The login for your library account is your NDSU email (first.last@ndsu.edu) along with the password you have associated with it.
If you are having problems (like password doesn't seem to work), please contact the NDSU Helpdesk at https://www.ndsu.edu/it/help/
I haven't gotten my interlibrary loan yet. when will my interlibrary loan arrive?
Please contact interlibrary loan with questions about your account at (701) 231-8885 or at ndsu.library.ill@ndsu.edu
