In addition to the lists below, resources can be found at:
New Books in Business, Agribusiness and Applied Economics
Browse the shelves:
Company Research:
Use these resources to help you locate and evaluate companies you would like to work for and prepare your application materials and interviews.
Library Ebooks:
Other resources:
Company websites, social media, and Glassdoor.com can provide insights into many companies. The 'about us' section of a company website often lists background, job openings, and policies; as well as annual reports.
Business Source Premier and Mergent Intellect, listed below, also include company profiles, SWOT analysis, and other news.
Salary Research:
Use these resources to help you identify salary ranges for careers and negotiate your salary.
Find Articles:
After selecting a link under 'Find Articles' search using words like entrepreneur, "new business enterprises", "business incubators", self-employment, "family owned business", "home business", or "small business".
Names, Trademarks, and Patents:
In most states, the Secretary of State Office handles company registration. For North Dakota, you can find more information on their Business Services page. In Minnesota you can search on the Business Filings page.
National searches for company names should also be done to ensure national companies do not use the same name in your state, see Trademark Basics.
Patenting your work provides protection and gives you the right to exclude others from selling an invention. Utility patents for the most common. For general information about patents see Patent Basics. To begin patent searching, follow the steps outlined here: Seven Step Strategy. This will help you determine if your invention has already been patented.
Business research database. Includes articles, company profiles, and industry reports.
Multidisciplinary resources including articles, online books, reference materials, laboratory protocols, etc. Some full-text.
Science, technology, and medicine resources and bibliographic information.
Communication and mass media research.
Index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health.
Journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, standards, and dictionaries from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
Research on agriculture, the environment and the applied life sciences.
Leading national and regional newspapers, 1980s-current.
Newspaper, magazine, and other content from leading sources in business news, and regional publications.
Department of Accounting, Finance, and Information Systems subscription includes the Audit & Compliance module. Requires login.
Register here with NDSU email for a user account.
Essential Intelligence: a comprehensive source of business and investment information. Users must create an account. Use New User? link at the top of the page, then log in after account creation.
History Detail & Consensus Estimates. Browsers no longer support FTP access; requires FTP application to access host URL (ftp://ftp-ibes.refinitiv.com). WinSCP is recommended for Windows users. Contact reference: (701) 231-8886 or Business Learning Center: (701) 231-8189 for login credentials.
From Business Source Premier. Datamonitor industry profile reports that contain market overview, size, segmentation, competitive landscape, leading companies, forecasts, and definitions.
Provides histories of public and private companies that are leading influences in particular industries or geographic locations.
Provides industry financial benchmarks from Dun & Bradstreet, with the ability to input and export financial data.
Presents comparative business statistics, featuring descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.
Annual Reports archive includes annual company reports of US and international companies. Key Business Ratios archive includes industry financial ratios.
Private and public company data, includes spreadsheet data, industry reports, industry financial ratios, executive contacts, and demographic data from Nielsen.
