HDFS Graduate Programs

NDSU Libraries Resources for Your Research

Below find recommended library resources for research in Youth Development, Gerontology, and Family Financial Planning.

Library How-To Resources:

Author and Title (Book) Searches

Citation Management Tools

EBook: Grad School Essentials: A Crash Course in Scholarly Skills

How to Find Dissertations & Theses

How to Find Journals

How to Search Scopus and Web of Science

How to Use Interlibrary Loan

Services for Distance Students

Recommended Library Resources

Psychology-focused:

• APA PsycInfo
  • Index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health.
• APA PsycArticles
  • Peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.

Business- and industry-focused: 

• Business Source Premier 
  • Business research database. Includes articles, company profiles, and industry reports.

Social sciences-focused: 

• Social Sciences Citation Index 
  • Bibliographic and citation information needed to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share findings in the social sciences. Part of Web of Science.

Interdisciplinary/comprehensive: 

• JSTOR 
  • Academic journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
• Academic Search Ultimate 
  • A vast multi-disciplinary resource containing magazines, periodicals, reports, books, videos and peer-reviewed, full-text journals.
• Web of Science
  • All Web of Science databases. Indexes multidisciplinary scholarly and peer-reviewed resources.
• Web of Science Core Collection
  • Abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journal articles and scholarly sources in a range of disciplines. Part of Web of Science.

Medical sciences-focused: 

• PubMed
  • Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. May link to selected full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. 
• Medline 
  • Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Other platforms: Clarivate | NIH

Other: 

• Google Scholar
  • Search tool for scholarly literature. Additional instructions for setting up to automatically connect to NDSU Libraries resources.

How to Access NDSU Library Resources Remotely

NDSU Library Website and CAS Login 

To access online resources provided by the NDSU Libraries, you must navigate through the links provided on the library website. When accessing any password-protected library resources, you should see the CAS login screen (image below). Sign in with your NDSU username (usually firstname.lastname) and passphrase. These are the same credentials you would use to log in to your NDSU Blackboard or Zoom account.

Connect Google Scholar to NDSU Library 

Another option for accessing some NDSU Library-provided resources is through Google Scholar. Follow the instructions at this link to set your Google Scholar preferences to connect to NDSU Libraries.

Distance Check-Out of Physical Library Items and Interlibrary Loan Items

All NDSU Online students have the ability to check out books and other physical items from the NDSU Library. To do this, log in to your Interlibrary Loan account. From there, click the green "Create Request" button, and choose the Book option. Enter the book information (author and title, at minimum), scroll down to the Mailing Address section, enter the address to which you'd like the item shipped, and submit your request. The book will be checked out to your library account and mailed to you with return shipping included.